Up and coming!

by Zoe A. Choo

Well hello, it’s been awhile since I’ve blogged here.

So two things, I’ve completely stopped using and consuming steroid-based medications and cream, antibiotics and antihistamines for over two weeks now – healing journey, and yesterday, I’ve just returned from a very fruitful in Batam – orphanage.

I stopped my antibiotic for approximately three weeks, subsequently, the rest of my medications. I decided on this upon finding out how damaged my organs were (leaky gut, eczema, hormonal imbalances, hypothyroid, inflamed joints and colon, etc..) at HealthyStars and they were resulted by fake foods and the medications I’ve taken over the years. This year I’ve gathered quite a fair bit of knowledge on nutrition (generally paleo) out of my 2013’s new year resolution to be healthier – I managed to eat better, exercise more, quit smoking and alcoholism yet I’m not exactly near healthy, but I’m getting there.

So my eczema started to flare up very quickly, gradually then all at once. It is terribly uncomfortable and annoying, my weeping wounds would stick on anything it comes in contact with and it hurts when I rip it off. The itching became unbearable, especially at night, I couldn’t last an hour without scratching myself awake in agony. Currently I’ve eczema covering almost 40% of my body, from head to toe, literally, but I am getting better.

Out of my desperation for healing, without steroids and antibiotics, I cycled to Palawan Beach one night to soak in sea water (Aunty Lilian and my dad said to give it a try and I’ve read about the sea’s healing properties) and so I dipped myself seven times like Naaman (seven times in the Bible actually symbolises in God’s time). By the fifth time, I was calmed and I thought that I needed to read the Bible, and behold, “Blessed (happy, blithesome, joyous, spiritually prosperous—with life-joy and satisfaction in God’s favor and salvation, regardless of their outward conditions) are the meek (the mild, patient, long-suffering), for they shall inherit the earth!” (Matthew 5:5) – I got reminded I prayed for meekness and I guess that was enough. This is one of the few encounters I’ve had. I never knew “blessed” this way and I’m learning patience and long-suffering. Through these painful times, God has been very close to me and He never failed to comfort me. Through His word, His presence and people, who were constantly asking about my condition, caring and praying for me.

Going for a mission trip in this condition wasn’t pleasant at all, (I almost bailed but thank God, otherwise). Sleepless, I headed to Batam with my mum and the rest of the team. At that point, I was still very absorbed by my skin condition that it ate into my compassion for the children. When we got there, the guys and some tougher girls did the manual work remaking the entire orphanage (that was in a very rundown condition) while the rest of the girls brought the children out in groups to shop for new clothes and shoes (who screamed in joy upon knowing that they were getting new clothes).

I had a group of very pleasant children under my care, and my hardened heart melted when I met this girl, whom the older girls took turns to carry, walked – limped. Her name is Stefi and she is a really pretty and cheerful little girl. Both her feet were twisted and her right foot was twisted to the back, so she limped on her ankle. Alright, my heart really broke when she turned around and smiled at me while she limped, and then she wanted me to carry her. I was speechless, partially disgusted at myself, as my skin problem faded in the shadows of the reality I held in my arms.

The children had really good attitudes and their fatal and genuine appreciation for the gifts and seeing Ibu Leni, the founder of the orphanage, was moved to tears by what we’ve done for the orphanage only brought more warmth to my soul. (I will write more about this in another post)

By the time I got back, my skin had worsen to an extend I was crying in the bathroom, well, it was 50% physical and the other 50% was a mental and emotional torment. On that day, I decided to visit a TCM doctor, Dr. Ong (found her while Googling “eczema cure in singapore”). She told me during consultation, “You’re Christian, and God will not give you something you cannot handle.” and I almost cried. Got acupuncture for the first time and my irritation and pain has subsided about 65%. I think I am 30% better. Also, I’ve decided to start on the autoimmune protocol.

I’m learning, I’m growing and I’m getting better. All these while, yes, it’s evident God’s grace is sufficient. I am truly, infinitely blessed.

I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us. For the creation waits in eager expectation for the children of God to be revealed. For the creation was subjected to frustration, not by its own choice, but by the will of the one who subjected it, in hope that the creation itself will be liberated from its bondage to decay and brought into the freedom and glory of the children of God.” (Romans 8:18-21) Thank You for loving us.

