2014

by Zoe A. Choo

2013 was just about a week back and 2014 seemed to have came on a little quick. 2013 was an amazing journey for me and I’m transiting into 2014 with fair victories fought, struggles overcame and still fighting some battles as well. Above all, the core of my resolutions are still loving God wholeheartedly, loving people fervently and also, loving myself.

2014 will be the year I turn 21, the marked age of adulthood, and although that happens, I guess I’d still never stop growing and with that age, I’m just sum collection of all my other ages.

When I was younger, perhaps just two years back, I’d be living for the moment. And I thought I was embracing all of life for it. I guess I had misunderstood life, because living for a purpose, our calling, would actually be embracing life. Ironically, yet beautifully, fully embracing life is fully surrendering it.

I honestly don’t know what 2014 has installed for me, being in a midst of a trial doesn’t make it any exciting yet having faith and hope makes it all bittersweet, together with the battles won and lessons learnt in 2013. Everything seems happy-sad. Tough and soft. All at once. Maybe I am excited for 2014, partially because I don’t know what is installed for me.

Perhaps this is one of the perks of being a Christian, stability. Even in the midst of tough times, it is nice and all good. Sweet and savoury. Blessed are we.

