Love your neighbour as yourself

by Zoe A. Choo

Yes, to love your neighbour as yourself. This is the second commandment given to us by Jesus, next to loving God with all of our hearts, our minds and our souls. City Harvest Church has emphasized and spoon-fed this motto to us members very intently; Loving God wholeheartedly. Loving people fervently.

That verse (Matthew 22:39) inspired me to write this, because I was unable to love myself. The degree we love ourselves is relative to the degree we love the people around us. I hated myself and with that, I also made it so much harder to love others, furthermore, to accept – having a disbelief for, the love others have for me. At the amount of arbitrary standards I’ve placed on myself for people to like me – which I initially mistook that love should work that way among people, I’ve also subconsciously placed the same code of laws I had for myself onto others. Little did I know how contagious, lethal and destructive a small misconception of a truth can cause; from any human being to an entire nation.

I never really learn self-love until God removed what was blinding me, flooding me evidently with His love and the love my fellow family and friends have for me. (More on Arcane Appeaser)

One of my favourite quotes I’ve came aross:

‘Yesterday I was clever, so I wanted to change the world. Today I am wise, so I am changing myself.’ — Rumi

If we should start somewhere, I believe it is loving who we, and not just who we are, but who are in Christ, in which is fulfilled in conjunction with loving God wholeheartedly that is also delighting in His Word that says who we are in Christ. (SO MUCH CROSS-REFERENCE IN THE BIBLE TTTRRRRIIIIPPPPLLEEEE CONFIRM)

