Called to Love.

by Zoe A. Choo

Life doesn’t make sense without God. God completes everything, everything is made perfect through Christ and I can’t get anymore more certain about it when I look at the world around me.

Just earlier, like an hour back, Channel NewsAsia was broadcasting the happenings of a strike going on between the students and the parents in Hong Kong where the students are protesting for what they think is logical for the government to change and are rebelling hard against their parents regardless. My dad was so worked up, well, of course, seeing children being foolish. Yet, many are being conformed this way. The perceived and deceived perfect life.

I understood why the parents were so worked up. I understood why the students went on strike. I tried to explain to my father on why the student would do it. It was out of a vast knowledge they had accumulated with education, internet, media, songs, etc… The world around us continues to advance with compounded intelligence though with the same intelligence. The students, perceiving the vast knowledge fed to them, with the same intelligence, the possible advantages and the current disadvantages they were facing – logically. It pained me to hear words from the students going “They have to come and speak to us logically.” and parents hurling vulgarities at the students without logic. Yet we know, the parents acted this way out of hurt (giving their hearts and lives to their children only to have them trample all over it), whereas the students developed another coping mechanism for their hurt (all parents hurt their children in various degrees), by shutting off their emotions – which is quite easy to do, given the immense distractions readily available and not to say, enticing, from all around us.

My father couldn’t listen to me with all that anger he gathered from the news, and maybe other stuffs, and instantly assumed I was siding the ungrateful students and went on ranting as my mum came out of their room with another news she saw on Facebook on her phone and told me to come look, which I did. The post was by an offended civilian who had taken a video of a woman who claims to be Christian after ruining a Taoist alter. I couldn’t be bothered watching the entire video as well, and I told my mum we’re all flawed, but as Christians we’re to love. (And actually called to be perfect, though not perfectionism.)

When I left the room, I came to the living room where the news flashed how the Pope is not resistant to change where I said, “Praise God.” and my dad started scrutinising and once again he couldn’t understand and so I didn’t bother to speak any further.

It later hit me on why people would end up being so closed up against Christians it is because we have failed to represent Jesus. My dad doesn’t need to hear any reasoning, he just needs to see Jesus for himself, to experience God’s love for himself. Every argument tends to be birthed from a hurt, and from experience, it only causes more hurt.

As Christians, we are called to love, called to give, called to follow Jesus and we can only do that by constantly (daily) surrendering ourselves to God. It isn’t my place to judge another, whether or not they’re Christians. One thing’s for sure, Jesus died for all. God loves ALL. Every single one of us, whether we’ve made mistakes or not. Jesus loved those that were hated, Jesus loved the sinners. I love the part of the Bible where Jesus said “Let he who is without sin cast the first stone.” when the Pharisees brought an adulteress to be stoned and nobody could, other than Jesus. None of us has the rights to put judgment upon another, at that scene only Jesus had the rights to cast the first stone but He didn’t. He asked the woman “Where are those accusers of yours? Has no one condemned you?” and right there and then we see how “If God is for us, who can be against us?” We see how “Greater is He who is in me, than he who is in the world.”. We see how “He prepares a table before me in the presence of my enemies.”. We see that when Jesus comes into our lives, He means to wash us clean from our debts. And the woman says, “No one, Lord.”.

Jesus is my Lord and my Saviour, and “There is therefore now no condemnation to those who are in Christ Jesus, who do not walk according to their flesh, but according to the Spirit.”

And when we know that we are His children and that He loves us regardless of our past, regardless of what we’ve done, when we know in our minds and in our hearts our right standing in God we can love pass judgments, we can love pass hurts. When we know how much God loves us, we can also love Him so much too because He is just so, amazing. When we know how much He loves us we can look into the mirror and love what we see because we see what God sees, and we can love other people without judging them because we’re able to see pass their wrongs because love covers all wrongs and all we want to do is love because God is in us, and God is love. We won’t be offended by them, because they don’t know and all God wants to do is just to love them, it’s just to heal the hurt inside, to adopt them into His House again. We won’t be hurt by them, we’ll hurt for them like Jesus did. Jesus isn’t offended by anyone, God isn’t offended by us because He loves us. The devil wants us to think God is angry at us all the time, or if we see Him – that’s why we’d fear, and fall in guilt and condemnation but that is so contradicting because Jesus has came to set us free from fear, guilt and condemnation and Jesus is God. “Perfect love casts out all fear.”

“For I am persuaded that neither death nor life, nor angels nor principalities nor powers, nor things present nor things to come, nor height nor depth, nor any other created thing, shall be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” 

GOD LOVES US! PERIOD.

