Jiro Dreams of Sushi

by Zoe A. Choo


Jiro Dreams of Sushi (2011), an amazing and inspiring documentary that got me thinking, re-evaluating on my own life again.

Just thinking about my life, I’ve already spotted some lies in my mind. Namely, wearing my sickness on as a robe but the truth is that, it is but a sickness that’ll pass away in due time. It might be an annoying hindrance but it’s definitely not a lord over my life. I’m reminding myself.

tumblr_nmk3r86qzv1uswgqqo1_500

Jiro’s silhouette of utter passion and perfectionism toward sushi unveiled how I’ve been extremely half-hearted and lukewarm, procrastinating, and dancing with lies and negativity. Well, I was still functioning, but that’s not enough.

I’m still learning to find a balance between utter dissatisfaction and complete acceptance, I tend to forget who I am in Him. There so much more to learn. More about dying to myself, more about love, more about what God’s doing.

Then He said to them all, “If anyone desires to come after Me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross daily, and follow Me. – Luke 9:23 (NKJV) 

Recently God showed me Luke 9:23, and so I’ve been learning about it, devouring it. Just thinking about what’s going on although ironically I really don’t know what’s going on, makes me a little excited again; remembering how life with God is an adventure.

I’m far from where I should be, but like Jiro when he was nine and had no home to return to, he had no choice but to move forward and press on if he needed to survive. Before he found passion in making sushi – before it even became his craft, that ordeal of being thrown into the cold, harsh world at such a tender age molded a character attribute that not only spearheaded Jiro’s dreams of sushi but maintained it. I’m encouraged that God has good plans for me, a hope and a future. After all, trials are always designed to make us stronger.

tumblr_nm1qiuzdzl1terwlso1_500

Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication.
– Leonardo da Vinci

Jiro also mastered minimalism, as Leonardo da Vinci said it perfectly although it’s a little out of context, but it still applies.

So, I thought about just needing to do one thing. Just one thing. The most important thing, as of now and probably till my time on Earth is up.

Surrender.

And I just realised how Luke 9:23 is so apt right at this moment as I’m writing. So I’d deny myself, pick up my cross daily, and follow Him. Give this one life in exchange for His. One focus, the upward call. One vision, the bride. One day at a time. One person to love on.

So, is one going to make a difference? You’ll decide.

I also really want to have me some omakase sushi. 

